Best Paper Awards

The Best Paper Awards recognise outstanding papers at EACL 2021. The best paper awards were selected as follows:

Based on the paper reviews, the opinions of the area chair, and the senior area chair(s), we constructed a short-list of strong papers. The short-list contained papers of diverse topics e.g., on tasks, models, resources, evaluation methodologies, etc. The papers came from most of the conference tracks and were in both short and long papers format.

The short-listed anonymized papers were sent to the Best Paper Award Committee for further review. Based on the BPA committee judgments, the top papers were awarded honourable mentions and best papers. Overall we award 2 best papers and 3 honorable mentions, for both the long papers and short papers lists.

The following papers have been given awards.

Best Long Paper Awards

  • Error Analysis and the Role of Morphology
    Marcel Bollmann and Anders Søgaard
  • Is Supervised Syntactic Parsing Beneficial for Language Understanding Tasks? An Empirical Investigation
    Goran Glavaš and Ivan Vulić

Honourable Mention Papers

  • Cognition-aware Cognate Detection
    Diptesh Kanojia, Prashant Sharma, Sayali Ghodekar, Pushpak Bhattacharyya, Gholamreza Haffari and Malhar Kulkarni
  • Hidden Biases in Unreliable News Detection Datasets
    Xiang Zhou, Heba Elfardy, Christos Christodoulopoulos, Thomas Butler and Mohit Bansal
  • A phonetic model of non-native spoken word processing
    Yevgen Matusevych, Herman Kamper, Thomas Schatz, Naomi Feldman and Sharon Goldwater

Best Short Paper Awards

  • Question and Answer Test-Train Overlap in Open-Domain Question Answering Datasets
    Patrick Lewis, Pontus Stenetorp and Sebastian Riedel
  • Multilingual LAMA: Investigating Knowledge in Multilingual Pretrained Language Models
    Nora Kassner, Philipp Dufter and Hinrich Schütze

Honourable Mention Papers

  • We Need To Talk About Random Splits
    Anders Søgaard, Sebastian Ebert, Jasmijn Bastings and Katja Filippova
  • ProFormer: Towards On-Device LSH Projection Based Transformers
    Chinnadhurai Sankar, Sujith Ravi and Zornitsa Kozareva
  • Applying the Transformer to Character-level Transduction
    Shijie Wu, Ryan Cotterell and Mans Hulden

Congratulations all!